Results 1 to 13 of 13

HOW-TO: Manually Patch KO

This is a discussion on HOW-TO: Manually Patch KO within the Tech Support forums, part of the Knight Online (ko4life.com) category; Having had to type these steps out one time too many, here is a guide to manually patching KnightOnline complete ...
Page: 1


  1. #1
    BANNED FOR SCAMMING!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    944

    Default

    Having had to type these steps out one time too many, here is a guide to manually patching KnightOnline complete with pictures.

    This guide is written for Windows XP and Internet Explorer 6, but should also apply to IE7, Vista or 2000 with only minor adjustments, which I shall leave for the user to worry about. I also assume you use WinZip, if you use a different Archiver, then you will need to adjust the WinZip steps accordingly.

    1: Check Current KO Version

    Open up My Computer
    Open Local Disk (C
    Open Program Files
    Open Knight Online (might appear as KnightOnline without the space depending on when you first installed)
    Open server.ini (might appear just as "server" if you have file extensions hidden)

    Look for the line which starts "Files=", the number after this is your current version of KnightOnline

    Leave this folder open, you will need it again later.

    2: Enabling Passive FTP

    Open Internet Explorer
    Click Tools
    Click Internet Options
    Click on the Advanced tab
    Scroll down to find the entry for Passive FTP
    Enable Passive FTP (near the bottom of this screenshot)



    3: Downloading the patches

    Click on Start
    Click on Run...
    Enter ftp://download.knightonlineworld.com/knight/upgrade or click this link

    You should see the list of patches available as below



    Select all the patches numbered HIGHER than your current version.
    Click on Edit
    Select Copy

    Bring up the Knight Online folder you found in step 1

    Click on Edit
    Select Paste

    You should see the files copy to your Knight Online folder. Wait until this completes.

    4: Installing the patches

    Select the LOWEST numbered patch you just downloaded.
    Right Click the patch
    Select WinZip -> Extract to here (as shown below)



    If prompted to overwrite files, say Yes.

    Once the extract has completed, select the remaining patches in number order and extract them one at a time, in the same way.

    5: Updating KnightOnline

    Now all the patches are in place, we need to tell the launcher that you have installed them.

    Double click on Server.ini
    Locate the line starting "Files="
    Update the number to equal the highest number patch you just installed.
    Save the file

    [6]6: Finished[/b]

    You should now be able to launch Knight Online and enter the game normally.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Durham England
    Posts
    2,005

    Default

    A quicker method once you have downloaded them is start the launcher

    I'm 99% sure it patches automatically for you if they're in the KO folder and you downloaded them

  3. #3
    BANNED FOR SCAMMING!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    944

    Default

    that's not manually patching though is it

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    MTL, Canada
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    Nice guide, requesting to pin it

    EDIT: You should put more than 1 site though cause some people like me cant access KOL website

    EDIT: Like this one

  5. #5
    BANNED FOR SCAMMING!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    944

    Default

    While hopefully everyone here is aiming to help, any site other than the official one (which is the one I linked to), should be used AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    I'm not saying Hypnos is trying to hack anyone, but if his server gets hacked, those files could end up replaced. I suppose the same could happen to K2 as well, but just be careful

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    MTL, Canada
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    While hopefully everyone here is aiming to help, any site other than the official one (which is the one I linked to), should be used AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    I'm not saying Hypnos is trying to hack anyone, but if his server gets hacked, those files could end up replaced. I suppose the same could happen to K2 as well, but just be careful [/b]
    It's KODB and who's Hypnos? :lol:

  7. #7
    BANNED FOR SCAMMING!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    944

    Default

    Hypnos runs kodb.info

  8. #8
    Call me Ghosty Senior Member SuperGhost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,913

    Default

    It's KODB and who's Hypnos? :lol:[/b]
    Hypnos is the creator and owner of KODB

    EDIT: Chuck, you beat me by milliseconds =(

  9. #9
    BANNED FOR SCAMMING!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    944

    Default

    That's cos i'm chuck norris. And in those milliseconds I also had sex with various members of your family who will never forget the experience for the rest of the natural lives. Which is to say, as long as I decide to let them live.

  10. #10
    Call me Ghosty Senior Member SuperGhost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,913

    Default

    That's cos i'm chuck norris. And in those milliseconds I also had sex with various members of your family who will never forget the experience for the rest of the natural lives.[/b]
    Awkward...

    btw: great guide

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    MTL, Canada
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    Owww had i known...Im sry

  12. #12
    MindlessHobo
    Guest

    Default

    didn't work for me, still getting 10038 LogIn Server Server error and instant disconnect after

    EDIT* was linked from another forum, sorry for bumping 2 yr old topic lol

  13. #13
    Senior Member fugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    238

    Default

    whenever i try to save the server.ini file i get the "access denied" message...

LinkBacks (?)

  1. Hits: 1
    05-11-2013, 05:59 AM
  2. Hits: 1
    06-01-2012, 10:24 AM
  3. Hits: 2
    05-01-2012, 07:43 PM
  4. Hits: 3
    03-25-2012, 11:56 PM
  5. Hits: 3
    10-19-2010, 09:39 AM
  6. Hits: 1
    03-31-2010, 07:13 PM
  7. Hits: 14
    03-29-2010, 07:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •