Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44

Lag Spikes, howto track the problem.

This is a discussion on Lag Spikes, howto track the problem. within the Tech Support forums, part of the Knight Online (ko4life.com) category; Pretty much everyone from South America and some Europe countries are suffering of big lag spikes. This is not related ...
Page: 1


  1. #1
    h4x0r Admin Devile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,545

    Default Lag Spikes, howto track the problem.

    Pretty much everyone from South America and some Europe countries are suffering of big lag spikes. This is not related to a game problem but just a network problem. Prolly a router somewhere, droping packets. First thing u need to do is a traceroute so u identify all the points u pass through to connect to USKO. Type this in a DOS command prompt:

    Code:
    tracert -d 207.38.26.1
    It's a K2 router. This will give u an output similar to this:

    Code:
    C:>tracert -d 207.38.26.1
    
    
    
    Tracing route to 207.38.26.1 over a maximum of 30 hops
    
    
    
     *1 * * * * * * ** * * * ** * * Request timed out.
    
     *2 * * 6 ms * * 6 ms * *10 ms *192.168.1.250
    
     *3 * * 8 ms * * 8 ms * * 7 ms *172.20.0.58
    
     *4 * * 8 ms * * 8 ms * *12 ms *84.16.8.45
    
     *5 * * 8 ms * * 8 ms * * 7 ms *213.140.38.162
    
     *6 * *88 ms * *69 ms * *72 ms *213.140.37.214
    
     *7 * *71 ms * *70 ms * *71 ms *213.140.36.73
    
     *8 * *98 ms * *97 ms * *98 ms *213.140.36.37
    
     *9 * *99 ms * 101 ms * 108 ms *213.140.53.66
    
     10 * 143 ms * 143 ms * 144 ms *208.50.86.50
    
     11 * 146 ms * 143 ms * 143 ms *216.23.160.66
    
     12 * 148 ms * 142 ms * 142 ms *207.38.26.1
    Each ip is a hop. Next step is open as many DOS command prompt windows as IPs u got from the traceroute, and type a "ping -t <ip>". So for this example u will have to open 12 windows, 1 per each 'ping -t'

    Code:
    ping -t 207.38.26.1
    
    ping -t 216.23.160.66
    
    ping -t 208.50.86.50
    
    ping -t 213.140.53.66
    
    etc.
    The last IPs are the closest to K2 and the most important to monitor since these ones are common to more ppl and prolly where the problem is. Then just play the game. As soon as u get a lag spike, ALT+TAB and check your ping windows. U will start to get errors like this:

    Code:
    Reply from 207.38.26.1: bytes=32 time=229ms TTL=242
    
    Request timed out.
    
    Reply from 207.38.26.1: bytes=32 time=229ms TTL=242
    This means, your communication with K2 router had a timeout which caused the lag spike. Check all windows backwards, starting with the last IP and see which one was the first that had that same "Request timed out" error. In my case, I found that 213.140.53.66 was ok but 208.50.86.50 started with the Request timeouts and everything after that, so 208.50.86.50 is the one causing the problems. That IP belongs to:

    Name: intelenet-communications-intelenet-communications.so-6-0-0.ar3.lax1.gblx.net
    IP Address: 208.50.86.50
    Location: Los Angeles (33.972N, 118.250W)
    Network: GBLX-6C


    With this info, K2 can talk to their ISP and get this sorted out. If u guys wanna help troubleshoot this problem, u should do the same and see what u get.

  2. #2
    tolgahan
    Guest

    Default

    next method is that
    if you have huge lags try this one:

    /fuck telekom
    dit
    dit
    dit
    if "no" go on playing
    /fuck K2
    dit
    dit
    dit
    if "yes" go to 1F1A3B
    1F1A3B-> type "exit game"

    by the way ty devile

  3. #3
    h4x0r Admin Devile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,545

    Default

    I already reported my case and sent my traceroute to K2 so they can work this out with their ISP. I live in Peru. It will be good if ppl from other countries do the same in case is not just 1 point of failure here.

  4. #4
    Lawless
    Guest

    Default

    if my memory serves me correctly last time this was happening that same node was the source of my issues....I assumed that was K2's closest access to T3's, or their ISP itself for that matter.

  5. #5
    Senior Member C4pt4iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Thank u very much devile <3, I will try this today

  6. #6
    Senior Member festo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    22 nodes for me

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Soon ill be Everywhere
    Posts
    772

    Default

    stfu i have 26

  8. #8
    KamY
    Guest

    Default

    Originally posted by Devile
    I already reported my case and sent my traceroute to K2 so they can work this out with their ISP. I live in Peru. It will be good if ppl from other countries do the same in case is not just 1 point of failure here.
    Im from Peru too , do i have to do this or its ok with your report?

  9. #9
    userbin
    Guest

    Default

    Code:
    Tracing route to 207.38.26.1 over a maximum of 30 hop
    
    
    
     *1 * *13 ms * *14 ms * *12 ms *69.29.180.20
    
     *2 * *22 ms * *13 ms * *12 ms *209.142.169.1
    
     *3 * *13 ms * *13 ms * *13 ms *209.142.169.9
    
     *4 * *19 ms * *18 ms * *18 ms *64.156.40.197
    
     *5 * *17 ms * *19 ms * *18 ms *4.68.107.1
    
     *6 * *65 ms * *64 ms * *65 ms *64.159.0.246
    
     *7 * *66 ms * *66 ms * *66 ms *4.68.102.13
    
     *8 * *61 ms * *60 ms * *58 ms *63.208.234.134
    
     *9 * *70 ms * *64 ms * *74 ms *216.52.255.115
    
     10 * 107 ms * *80 ms * *61 ms *216.52.253.234
    
     11 * *68 ms * *70 ms * *69 ms *216.23.160.97
    
     12 * *69 ms * *72 ms * *71 ms *207.38.26.1
    
    
    
    Trace complete.
    this is what im seeing and its still lagging / frreezing on me

  10. #10
    Senior Member Pajatso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Code:
    Tracing route to 207.38.26.1 over a maximum of 30 hops
    
    
    
     *1 * *23 ms * *21 ms * *20 ms *172.24.0.1
    
     *2 * *22 ms * *22 ms * *23 ms *84.239.128.254
    
     *3 * *21 ms * *22 ms * *22 ms *62.237.177.221
    
     *4 * *29 ms * *29 ms * *29 ms *213.88.255.246
    
     *5 * *29 ms * *28 ms * *29 ms *195.215.109.69
    
     *6 * *42 ms * *41 ms * *41 ms *83.88.12.157
    
     *7 * *41 ms * *66 ms * *41 ms *83.88.20.5
    
     *8 * *41 ms * *40 ms * *40 ms *83.88.22.58
    
     *9 * 141 ms * 140 ms * 139 ms *83.88.1.190
    
     10 * 138 ms * 139 ms * 138 ms *83.88.12.141
    
     11 * 141 ms * 139 ms * 138 ms *146.82.35.201
    
     12 * 212 ms * 212 ms * 213 ms *208.50.86.50 * * * * <- 1st same IP
    
     13 * 212 ms * 212 ms * 211 ms *216.23.160.66
    
     14 * 259 ms * 347 ms * 425 ms *207.38.26.1
    waiting for lag.. .P

    and got 1 after like 30 minutes of waiting...
    and the winner is..

    208.50.86.50


    And btw... ( for userbin )



    Code:
    Tracing route to 216.23.160.97 over a maximum of 30 hops
    
    
    
     *1 * *24 ms * *21 ms * *20 ms *172.24.0.1
    
     *2 * *24 ms * *23 ms * *22 ms *84.239.128.254
    
     *3 * *23 ms * *22 ms * *23 ms *62.237.177.221
    
     *4 * *29 ms * *28 ms * *29 ms *213.88.255.246
    
     *5 * *29 ms * *29 ms * *29 ms *195.215.109.69
    
     *6 * *41 ms * *40 ms * *40 ms *83.88.12.157
    
     *7 * *40 ms * *42 ms * *45 ms *83.88.20.5
    
     *8 * *40 ms * *41 ms * *41 ms *83.88.22.58
    
     *9 * 140 ms * 141 ms * 141 ms *83.88.1.190
    
     10 * 138 ms * 138 ms * 139 ms *83.88.12.141
    
     11 * 138 ms * 139 ms * 138 ms *146.82.35.201
    
     12 * 209 ms * 210 ms * * * * * 208.50.86.50 <- the bastard
    
     13 * 210 ms * 209 ms * 209 ms *216.23.160.97 * <- 2nd last for u
    if i wasnt up for 2 days in row i think i could make something out of that :P

  11. #11
    cRuX
    Guest

    Default

    lol i don't know wtf devile just told me to do :unsure: .. I live in Missouri (USA)...any1 else from the states getting bad lags?..oh and btw devile..i lagg out and dc only on beramus 1..if i'm on bera2 or 3 i'm fine..wtf?

  12. #12
    xtc:
    Guest

    Default

    Yep I live in midwest USA as well.. And im getting the gay spikes. Seems that the increased traffic on the 1st servers leads to more dcs rather than just a lag spike.

  13. #13
    cRuX
    Guest

    Default

    Originally posted by xtc:
    Yep I live in midwest USA as well.. And im getting the gay spikes. *Seems that the increased traffic on the 1st servers leads to more dcs rather *than just a lag spike.
    git-r-done.. wtf can we do...

  14. #14
    HiddenRage
    Guest

    Default

    devil u smart baba :wub:

  15. #15
    Senior Member SlmShady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    860

    Default

    Originally posted by cRuX+--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(cRuX)</div>
    <!--QuoteBegin-xtc:
    Yep I live in midwest USA as well.. And im getting the gay spikes. *Seems that the increased traffic on the 1st servers leads to more dcs rather *than just a lag spike.
    git-r-done.. wtf can we do...[/b]
    do waht devile told u u n00b, and just to clarify, this doesnt fix the lag problem, it only finds out where the problem is so u can send it to K2 to "fix" it, if they know what "fixing" is... :rollseyes:

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •