Results 1 to 15 of 15

New Computer Build [Updated]

This is a discussion on New Computer Build [Updated] within the Tech Support forums, part of the Knight Online (ko4life.com) category; Ok guys,it's really time to buy a new computer so below are everything I will be purchasing (only off TigerDirect) ...
Page: 1


  1. #1
    Senior Member Xero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,757

    Default

    Ok guys,it's really time to buy a new computer so below are everything I will be purchasing (only off TigerDirect) so please take a good look at it and say if it's good/bad etc.I need to make sure everything is correct or I will be screwed and I don't want to return anything.I haven't bought anything yet so that is why I am here asking for some help.Thank you very much!

    CPU:
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/sea...;sku=CP1-I7-920

    Motherboard:
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...p;sku=P450-9124

    RAM:
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...mp;sku=C13-2048

    Graphic Card:
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...mp;sku=B52-9814

    Computer Case:
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...p;sku=C283-1187

    Power Supply:

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...mp;sku=C13-2503

    Harddrive:
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...sku=TSD-640AAKS


    That's pretty much it,if I am missing something or something seems to be wrong,please post here.Mostly thanks to Metalkon aka Chris for the great help! :P

    *Somewhat unsure about the motherboard,can someone tell me if it's good or not?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Community Nazı Senior Member schrotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    nazıland
    Posts
    3,482

    Default

    CPU and Ram are overpriced, the Case is unneccessary and wayyyyyyy too expensive. Also I'd try going for a 10000rpm or even 15000rpm HDD rather than a 7200.

    Also, why waste so much money on a case, if you're already going with the stock cooling on the CPU? Rather get a better fan on there, than spending a 260$ for a useless Case.

    Go with a cheaper case, will let you save a lot of money and eventually get a better HDD, if not two. As well as, you won't be needing a 750W PSU, 600W should be fully enough, unless you're planning to be modding like hell.. which, I guess is the reason for the case in first place, but even then, you can get better for cheaper.

    The motherboard wont work with the i7, different socket, you need a X58 .. or 1366.
    Neither does it support the DDR3.

    And why exactly are you limited to tigerdirect only? They seem fairly overpriced and short on most of the things.


    As it goes for the hardware components, the RAM's a killer, the CPU obviously one of the best around.. I hope you're going to OC it and if so, post results!
    Graphic card is quite decent, I'm very satisfied with my 9800 GTS myself, been doing a great job so far and is pretty cheap as well, hope to be running it on SLI soon

    Case is useless, HDD is a waste.
    I'd suggest going for a ~150 gb 10000rpm as primary and have an additional 250-500gb (whatever you need...) SATA 2 7200rpm as secondary.
    PSU is a keeper, I got a corsair myself, the 600W model though, it's more than I'll ever need. Seeing how I won't be modding my case, ever.

  3. #3
    Hypnos
    Guest

    Default

    Good CPU, but as schrotti said that motherboard won't work. Here's one for you:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813131359

    Good ram. Just maybe look around if you can get it slightly cheaper.

    That $150 graphics card with a Core i7 is just wrong. Get something better. That's the previous series of cards anyway. At the very least, get this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130475

    If you want a really nice drive, this is the way to go:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136296

    But that WD would be fine. It's too expensive though. 1TB drives are $100 now.


    If you're spending most of your time on KO, build a system around an Intel E8600 CPU (Board I linked to above won't work with it. It's the 775 socket). KO does best with a high clock speed. Not more cores. It will run KO faster, even though it's cheaper.

    Although you don't need much power for KO unless you're running a big monitor (1600x1200-1920x1200). And putting all this money into a PC with anything less than a 21" monitor is silly.

    Go with 64bit XP or 64bit Vista for an OS, so Windows can use all the ram you're getting. Standard Windows XP/Vista 32bit has a limit of 4GB, but you'll usually be limited to about 3.2GB because of other things using the address space.

  4. #4
    ILoveYouToo
    Guest

    Default

    Listen to those guys they're right. Especially about the ram. I got 6gb of corsair ddr3 for under 100 bucks so i'm sure you can find some a lot cheaper

  5. #5
    Senior Member Xero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,757

    Default

    Thanks guys for everything.I had a chance to look at what everyone said and I just wanna say thanks,I am a little busy atm so I cant go search more/find other products etc...I just want to say that this PC will not only be for Knight Online but for other high quality games such as Darkfall,Aion and for future games that are coming out.thnx i will be back

  6. #6
    Senior Member Metalkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, NB
    Posts
    2,607

    Default

    The DirectCanada prices are pretty close to NewEgg and you can pay with paypal instead of a Credit Card, if you have an order of over $300 then the shipping is free for everything which makes up for paying a few bucks extra like with the CPU.


    CPU:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...nufacture=INTEL

    Motherboard:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813131359
    http://www.directcanada.com/search/?kw=x58 (EVGA/ASUS/Gigabyte only, your choice for which)

    RAM:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...facture=G.SKILL

    Graphic Card:
    http://ncix.com/products/?sku=888882623&am...anufacture=EVGA

    Computer Case:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...re=COOLERMASTER

    Power Supply:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...facture=CORSAIR
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...facture=CORSAIR

    Harddrive:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...%20Digital%20WD

    Thermal Compound:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...ARCTIC%20SILVER

    OS: (If you don't have one already, also if you already have one then you need a 64-bit one for using all the ram)
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...cture=MICROSOFT

    DVD/CD Drive:
    http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=...facture=Samsung

  7. #7
    Strike
    Guest

    Default

    schrotti already stated this but the motherboard is not compatable with the i7. the asus Hypnos recommended is not bad but look around and you might find something better.

    RAM- you can get cheaper if you spend some time looking <_<

    HDD- NEVER by an OEM hard drive unless you are within strangling distance of the person selling it to you in case it fails. you can walk into any best buy and buy a 1TB HDD for less than that as hypnos pointed out.

    CPU- good and you don&#39;t need to change it.

    GFX card- see Hypnos&#39; post

    case- don&#39;t change it unless you want to.

    Power Supply- go for at least a 800W or better if you ever plan on running any of Nvidia&#39;s better gfx cards in SLi sometime in the future.
    plan ahead for what might come out in 2-3 yrs from now as the gfx card is one of the most common upgrades and the power supply is usually a limiting factor for most systems.

    sry if i sound like an ass right now but the proffessor&#39;s voice has gone monotone and it&#39;s 9:30pm here so i&#39;m a little irritated right now.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Nostyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,276

    Default

    Am I right saying that your CPU wont fit on your motherboard? Your motherboard has an 775 socket, an i7 CPU needs 1366 right?

    EDIT: after reading all the comments I saw this was allready mentioned

  9. #9
    evilwevel
    Guest

    Default

    i want that case

    and whoever said that it was way to much for a case didn&#39;t really have a good look at it.

  10. #10
    Community Nazı Senior Member schrotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    nazıland
    Posts
    3,482

    Default

    i want that case

    and whoever said that it was way to much for a case didn&#39;t really have a good look at it.[/b]

    It is too much, you can get it way cheaper. Also it is unneccessary, why would you ever need a 260$ case... for what? If you&#39;re going to mod your case, a 40$ one should do, you can always costumize it to your needs. Despite the fact, why waste that much money on a case, for its extra cooling if, you&#39;re going to use the stock cooling on your CPU in first place? I&#39;d rather save up a lot of money on it and get me myself a cheap case and make sure the cooling&#39;s alright, same result... lots of money saved. As well as you can always stock up on better hardware parts than having to waste 200$ on an overpriced and useless case.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Xero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,757

    Default

    I was wondering if I can build a good PC under $1000 going i7 build?

  12. #12
    Senior Member KillerJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    964

    Default

    can i know why you guys recomend ddr3 over ddr2? ddr3 is kinda usless

  13. #13
    Senior Member Metalkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, NB
    Posts
    2,607

    Default

    can i know why you guys recomend ddr3 over ddr2? ddr3 is kinda usless[/b]
    x58 motherboards are only able to use DDR3.

  14. #14
    Community Nazı Senior Member schrotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    nazıland
    Posts
    3,482

    Default

    can i know why you guys recomend ddr3 over ddr2? ddr3 is kinda usless[/b]
    ddr3 is in no way useless... running them on tri channel 6gb, they&#39;ll rock your socks!

  15. #15
    Senior Member Xero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,757

    Default

    Need BEST possible PC under $1000

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •