Results 1 to 10 of 10

RAM compatibility

This is a discussion on RAM compatibility within the Tech Support forums, part of the Knight Online (ko4life.com) category; how can i determine wat type and how much ram my motherboard can take? :S...
Page: 1


  1. #1
    Senior Member KillU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    322

    Default

    how can i determine wat type and how much ram my motherboard can take? :S

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    819

    Default

    how can i determine wat type and how much ram my motherboard can take? :S[/b]
    few method:

    1- find the full name of your motherboard and write it in google, then check for a website with inside the specific of it;


    2- open your computer, unplung a RAM and check on it what it say, usually there is wrote the model and the frequency;


    3- if you still have the manual of your computer then in it u should find every info about mobo, ram , bla bla


    4- write the name of your motheboard here and ill find it for you... If u have not it write your computer model, your processor (cpu) full name.


    there are other methods but u need have some knowledge and i doubt u have it


    let me know

  3. #3
    Shimmy
    Guest

    Default

    I would recommend using,

    EVEREST Free Edition 2.20

    After downloading and installing the software, Click

    Report > Report Wizzard > Next > 'Hardware Related Pages' > Next and 'HTML' Format >

    After the report has finish you should see a heading which says 'System Memory' Like So...



    Number 1: Tells us, what type of memory it is, in this case its DDR2, the test was run on a Desktop, so we know its Desktop DDR2 not to be confused with the Laptop DDR2
    Number 2: Tells us the MHZ the memory module runs at

    Hope this was abit of help.

    Shimmy.

  4. #4
    Senior Member KillU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    322

    Default

    few method:

    1- find the full name of your motherboard and write it in google, then check for a website with inside the specific of it;
    2- open your computer, unplung a RAM and check on it what it say, usually there is wrote the model and the frequency;
    3- if you still have the manual of your computer then in it u should find every info about mobo, ram , bla bla
    4- write the name of your motheboard here and ill find it for you... If u have not it write your computer model, your processor (cpu) full name.
    there are other methods but u need have some knowledge and i doubt u have it
    let me know[/b]
    Dell Inc. Dell DXP061

  5. #5
    simpleguy144
    Guest

    Default

    few method:

    1- find the full name of your motherboard and write it in google, then check for a website with inside the specific of it;
    2- open your computer, unplung a RAM and check on it what it say, usually there is wrote the model and the frequency;
    3- if you still have the manual of your computer then in it u should find every info about mobo, ram , bla bla
    4- write the name of your motheboard here and ill find it for you... If u have not it write your computer model, your processor (cpu) full name.
    there are other methods but u need have some knowledge and i doubt u have it
    let me know[/b]



    The method above is time consuming.

    Just follow my advice. Go to this website: http://www.crucial.com/store/drammemory.aspx
    It will scan your computer to find out what is already inside your system and get recommended RAM upgrades.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Metalkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, NB
    Posts
    2,607

    Default

    The method above is time consuming.

    Just follow my advice. Go to this website: http://www.crucial.com/store/drammemory.aspx
    It will scan your computer to find out what is already inside your system and get recommended RAM upgrades.[/b]
    They are all different methods, looking at the ram itself in the computer might be the easiest way and it does not have to be taken out, most ram products have a little sticker thing on them saying their model number and stuff. h34r:

    like this


  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    819

    Default

    LOL still the problem is not fixed

    Download CPU-Z here : http://www.filehippo.com/download_cpuz/

    It is a little utility (500k only) for check computer spec.

    Then click on memory and u should see something like: http://www.filehippo.com/screenshot/cpuz/5245_3/

    Good now u have your memory model

    Anyway your computer has the DDR-2, get the kind at @ 667 Mhz and you wont have problems. Check with CPU-Z just for be 100% sure.

    Anyway DDR-2 at 667 -_-

  8. #8
    Senior Member KillU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    322

    Default

    LOL still the problem is not fixed

    Download CPU-Z here : http://www.filehippo.com/download_cpuz/

    It is a little utility (500k only) for check computer spec.

    Then click on memory and u should see something like: http://www.filehippo.com/screenshot/cpuz/5245_3/

    Good now u have your memory model

    Anyway your computer has the DDR-2, get the kind at @ 667 Mhz and you wont have problems. Check with CPU-Z just for be 100% sure.

    Anyway DDR-2 at 667 -_-[/b]
    kk thx...now i dont understand DDR2 - RAm or DDR2 - Dual Memory

    and check this out http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=1554 would this be any good?

  9. #9
    evilwevel
    Guest

    Default

    kk thx...now i dont understand DDR2 - RAm or DDR2 - Dual Memory

    and check this out http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=1554 would this be any good?[/b]
    that's the kind of ram you're looking for. quite cheap to 2 GB for $30 ain't bad.

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    819

    Default

    kk thx...now i dont understand DDR2 - RAm or DDR2 - Dual Memory

    and check this out http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=1554 would this be any good?[/b]
    Yes u need this kind of RAM

    PC5400 mean that the RAM run at 667Mhz

    DDR2 is a kind of memory, the new one are the DDR3 but your computer doesnt not support them and most of the time the DDR3 are not even faster, coz it have bigger latency.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •