Results 1 to 11 of 11

250G HDD shows up as 13xG???

This is a discussion on 250G HDD shows up as 13xG??? within the Tech Support forums, part of the Knight Online (ko4life.com) category; Ok, so I have this 250 GIG HDD in my computer. when I first got it the HDD was partitioned ...
Page: 1


  1. #1
    Nosferatu_Incognito
    Guest

    Default 250G HDD shows up as 13xG???

    Ok, so I have this 250 GIG HDD in my computer. when I first got it the HDD was partitioned as two drives each 125G.

    So, during one of my bright moments I reinstalled the OS and wanted to change that to 40G, 85G, 125G partitions but now, all the computer can see is one partition of 13xG...


    How should I go about fixing this?

    windows 2000 OS

  2. #2
    priestish
    Guest

    Default

    in win2k, there is tool called diskmanagement. It is rather easy to use. Delete and re create.

  3. #3
    FatM4n
    Guest

    Default

    or download partitionmagic
    then you can move around with partitions as u want

  4. #4
    Senior Member festo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    With partitionmagic u can do the partitionin "on the fly" whereas with windows u have to more or less format to partition

  5. #5
    diablo
    Guest

    Default

    Originally posted by Festo
    With partitionmagic u can do the partitionin "on the fly" whereas with windows u have to more or less format to partition
    after a while of doing part.mag. all the time its possible to get bad sectors on your disk drive.

  6. #6
    Senior Member C4pt4iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    U appearently made the partition as 1 big drive (250GB) which ur OS cant show, try delete ur partition and try create it again, u must had did something wrong. Also read about 137GB barrier, so u know what u are up against with.

  7. #7
    Da Mod Father Senior Member Felix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    I thought 2000 couldn't see a HD that big, XP had the same problem untill SP1 came out.

  8. #8
    Senior Member C4pt4iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Originally posted by Felix
    I thought 2000 couldn't see a HD that big, XP had the same problem untill SP1 came out.
    I believe Win2k SP 5 fixed that.

  9. #9
    Senior Member festo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    Most hard drive companies send the "big drive fix" with the hd

  10. #10
    Senior Member C4pt4iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Originally posted by Festo
    Most hard drive companies send the "big drive fix" with the hd
    U mean inside the HD? I had once 2 160GB, both had the same problem that it crash all my data when the I had around 20 GB free space left. I got tired of running norton ghost at it over and over again, so I just throw it out of my computer and bought a few 120GB instead <_< Never bought any bigger HD since that..

  11. #11
    iwishicoulddupe
    Guest

    Default

    read about LBA i thing its logical block adressing
    i had 160gb hdd os saw 137

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •