Results 1 to 11 of 11

Ram Memory

This is a discussion on Ram Memory within the Tech Support forums, part of the Knight Online (ko4life.com) category; I'm planning to buy buy a new mainboard and processor. But the mainboard i'm planning to buy has 4 x ...
Page: 1


  1. #1
    Da Camel Senior Member Killing spree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,078

    Default

    I'm planning to buy buy a new mainboard and processor.
    But the mainboard i'm planning to buy has 4 x DIMM sockets of DDR3.


    Specs of the DIMM sockets:
    4 DIMM Dual Channel DDR3 1066/800
    (8 GB max)

    So i've been wondering, is it possible to but DDR2 Memory in DDR3 sockets?
    If the DDR2 memory was running on 800 would it be possible to put them in the DDR3 socket?

    greetz killing

  2. #2
    Senior Member pikachu_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    279

    Default

    i have atm 4gb of patriot 800mhz in ddr3 slots n its working fine

  3. #3
    Da Camel Senior Member Killing spree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,078

    Default

    k thx

  4. #4
    BANNED FOR SCAMMING!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    944

    Default

    Check in the manual of the motherboard. That will vary based on the motherboard. You can normally download the manuals from the manufacturers website.

  5. #5
    Senior Member pikachu_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    279

    Default

    lol no need to check
    its like u can put ddr1 to ddr 2 n it ll works

  6. #6
    Senior Member C4pt4iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Looking from the technical view, no. But maybe u can find a special motherboard that supports both.

    Firstly, DDR3 runs at lower voltage than DDR2. DDR3 use 1,5V while DDR2 use 1,8V. So a DDR3 designed motherboard wont have enough voltage to supply DDR2 memory.
    Secondly, the socket are supposely to be different as well, to prevent wrong memory insertion, that can resulting a damaged RAM or motherboard.
    Thirdly, there is no way DDR memory can be used on a DDR2 motherboard, since DDR have 184 pins, while DDR2 have 240 pins

    I would highly recommend to chose the correct RAM for the correct DDR socket.

    PS: U can mixing slower DDR2 with faster DDR2 RAM, and vice versa. The clock speed just will run as the slowest RAM module.

  7. #7
    ozbelcifer
    Guest

    Default

    I recommend that you buy at par (2x1gb, Bus800 or 1066), of course compatible with your motherboard.

  8. #8
    evilwevel
    Guest

    Default

    go for DDR2 now, unless ofcourse you have enough money to spend on DDR3 (just compare two 1 gig sticks, you'll notice a slight diffrence in price :lol: )

  9. #9
    Speed
    Guest

    Default

    lol no need to check
    its like u can put ddr1 to ddr 2 n it ll works[/b]
    that is certaintly not true , ddr2 and ddr sockets are different .. so they simply dont fit , i havent seen a ddr3 socket so i cant tell if its different from ddr2 but i will guess it is

    so if your mobo has ddr3 sockets u better buy ddr3 ram sticks

  10. #10
    evilwevel
    Guest

    Default

    DDR2 fits in DDR3 sockets just like a quad core processor fits in a 775 socket.

    you can push it in, but you'll never know what'll happen (bad things probably :lol: )

  11. #11
    ozbelcifer
    Guest

    Default

    goĦĦ
    Sell 2x1gb(bus 1066)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •